About Me

  Meet Katie

Hi! Welcome to my blog. My name is Katie. I am a 23-year-old Kindergarten teacher who lives in Charlotte, NC. I graduated from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in May 2010. I went through a hard first year out of college (complete with my first full year of teaching the little ones), but my life is now better than ever. I have a big family, a wonderful boy, a job that keeps me busy, and a love for exercise.

The Blog
This blog is a way to track my life as I have begun to transition out of college and into the real world. Originally, when the new year started, I wanted to move into an "Eat to Live" lifestyle, based on the book by Joel Fuhrman. It focuses on a change in eating to "raw" and natural. I didn't randomly come across this way of life however. My parents have both always been active people, but always sought new ways to try and lose weight. They bought the book and read it cover to cover. Three months after they began the diet, they had lost all their excess weight and both have never been healthier. This, naturally, intrigued me. I have slowly made changes to the way I eat and want to continue to do so.

I want to do what is best for my body and my health, as well as keep my body the way it is. All my life I have never had to "try" to be fit. I played basketball, softball, and soccer competitively since I was about 5 (soccer was my first and lasting love) and ran cross country a few years in high school. I also played intramural sports in college and had access to a gym. I have attempted to eat healthy ever since my sophomore year of college, but am trying to make the transition to cut processed foods from my diet and learn more about the art of cooking. I also have ran two half marathons to raise money for the Children's Tumor Foundation (my niece has Neurofibromatosis or NF1) and I want to run more races in the near future.

Besides fitness and food, I want this blog to be a place where I can write about all the beautiful things in my life. This will include daily musings about my boyfriend, our condo, our dog (the one and only Pepper), my nieces and nephews, my job, my friends, my family, and life. I hope you enjoy and continue to come back :)